Latest News

Putting the principles of sustainability and resiliency into practice—GLSD’s organics to energy project

NEWEA article on GLSD’s organics to energy project. To read the article, click here.

GLSD featured in Wentworth Institute of Technology Magazine

GLSD featured in Wentworth Institute of Technology Magazine. To read the article, click here.

CSO Notification Subscription

If you wish to be placed on our CSO email notification list, please click here: CSO Notification Subscription


Greater Lawrence Sanitary District nears goal to produce enough power to meet its own electrical needs and become a Net-Zero or even Net-Positive energy user.  Read: GLSD Organics to Energy Press Release Dec 10 2019-1

Baker-Polito Administration Invests $2 Million in Emergency Power to Protect Water Quality in Merrimack River

Funding for Greater Lawrence Sanitary District Will Prevent Wastewater Spills

Commissioner and Management Team

The five communities that make up the Greater Lawrence Sanitary District appoint a certain number of members to the Board of Commissioners based on population size. From Massachusetts – Lawrence has three members, Methuen two members and one each from Andover and North Andover. Salem New Hampshire also has one non-voting member appointment.

Commissioners are:


Mr. Thomas Connors, Chairman
Commissioner since 1998
Occupation: President/CEO

Mr. Joseph R. Quartarone
Commissioner since 2010
Occupation: Retired State Employee

Mr. Brian Peña
Commissioner since 2018
Also served January 2016 – July 2016
Occupation: Lawrence Acting DPW Director

Ms. Milagros Puello
Commissioner since 2019
Occupation: Lawrence City Engineer


Mr. Raymond DiFiore
Commissioner since 2012
Also served as Commissioner from 1998-2000
Occupation: Retired DPW Director

Mr. John A Cronin
Commissioner since 2012
Occupation: Electrician, Former City Councilor


Mr. Christopher Cronin
Commissioner since 2014
Occupation: Andover DPW Director

North Andover

Mr. Jim Stanford
Commissioner since 2017
Occupation: North Andover DPW Director

Salem NH

Ms. Cathy Ann Stacey
Commissioner since 2020
Occupation: Rockingham Register of Deeds, Salem NH Selectman

Management team:

Executive Director

Cheri R. Cousens, P.E.
2014 – present
MS Civil Engineering
BS Environmental Engineering

Finance Director
Laurie Elliott
2000 – Present

Operations Manager
Brett Leavitt
1987 – Present

Maintenance Manager
Richard Castonguay
2019 to Present

Monitoring Manager
Colleen Spero
1990 – present