Latest News

Baker-Polito Administration Invests $2 Million in Emergency Power to Protect Water Quality in Merrimack River

Funding for Greater Lawrence Sanitary District Will Prevent Wastewater Spills

0 comments

Regulatory support letters for GLSD’s Organics to Energy Project

Greater Lawrence Sanitary District received the following support letters for the Organics to Energy Project. MassDEP Cambridge City Council letter 10-5-18 EPA letter to Cambridge 10-5-18

0 comments

5/23/18 WM Core – Process Managing Organic Waste

Explanatory Video

0 comments

Commissioner and Management Team

The five communities that make up the Greater Lawrence Sanitary District appoint a certain number of members to the Board of Commissioners based on population size. From Massachusetts – Lawrence has three members, Methuen two members and one each from Andover and North Andover. Salem New Hampshire also has one non-voting member appointment.

Commissioners are:

Lawrence

Mr. Thomas Connors, Chairman
Commissioner since 1998
Occupation: President/CEO
Email: tmconnors@aol.com

Mr. Joseph R. Quartarone
Commissioner since 2010
Occupation: Retired State Employee

Mr. Brian Peña
Commissioner since 2018
Also served January 2016 – July 2016
Occupation: Water & Sewer Commissioner

Methuen

Mr. Raymond DiFiore
Commissioner since 2012
Also served as Commissioner from 1998-2000
Occupation: Retired DPW Director

Mr. John A Cronin
Commissioner since 2012
Occupation: Electrician, Former City Councilor

Andover

Mr. Christopher Cronin
Commissioner since 2014
Occupation: Director of Municipal Services

North Andover

Mr. Jim Stanford
Commissioner since 2017
Occupation: North Andover DPW Director

Salem NH

Mr. Michael Lyons
Commissioner since 2011
Occupation: Engineer, Salem NH Selectman

Management team:

Executive Director

Cheri R. Cousens, P.E.
2014 – present
MS Civil Engineering
BS Environmental Engineering
Email: ccousens@glsd.org

Finance Director
Laurie Elliott
2000 – Present
Email: lelliott@glsd.org

Capital Projects Manager
Richard Weare
2000 – Present
Email: rweare@glsd.org.

Operations Manager
Brett Leavitt
1987 – Present
Email: bleavitt@glsd.org

Monitoring Manager
Colleen Spero
1990 – present
Email: cspero@glsd.org